Spending the morning stood on the toilet – Painting Artex – Home Improvement – Bathroom – Garden – Sikh

Yes, today i wish to share with you my wonderful morning stood on my toilet, and crouched around it painting.

What a wonderful way to spend my morning with my head crouched around my toilet painting all the pipework, and other awkward areas that there are to paint in a small bathroom 🙂

You may wish to ask why i bring this up as a subject title?

I used to really hate painting, .

It was when i was going through my homelessness that I became very good friends with a British Indian Sikh family in the area.

They themselves where moving into a larger property for there family and had split there family home into a couple of flats.

In that moment in time I was ‘lucky’ to meet these guys because i was in desperate need to get out off shared accommodation and move into a nicer area and to have a place to myself that my daughter would be able to come to.

So I ended up moving into the property that they had converted into flats, on the agreement (because i did not have the money at that time for a bond, that i helped them paint there new house in exchange for the bond).

As I said at that time I had never really done much painting so this was a challenge to me, especially the exterior of the house that was  as such ‘artexed’ on the exterior, which brings me back to my bathroom wall in this moment today, because whilst i have been painting it ruining brushes because i am not able to use a paint roller, and picking paint bristles from the artex it reminded off the first ‘big’ paint job that I had done…

(artex- a textured wall designed with plaster)

It took 3-4 weeks to paint the exterior/ interior off the house for the bond at that time, frustration, a few mistakes that i’ve learnt by in the past 5 year,  the property was HAND PAINTED, which looks very beautiful and still does to this day…

And because of that bond payment i was asked again to help them with some off there other rental properties in the area,  and was asked by another member of there family to help when it came to preparations for his daughters wedding 3 years ago to help paint my friend Purum’s  own house, and work on the exterior including his garden to prepare for the wedding.

Purum regularly asks me to help him because of my ‘magical touch’ , especially to the garden.. We have become very good friends and I have become to get to know his extended family well over the last 5 years, and indirectly they have helped me when i  may suffer with bad spells off nervous anxiety at any moment in time and in effect have become a 2nd family to me. Partly because they could recognise that i was suffering with a form of mental health problem and was going through my breakdown at that time… I am very grateful to them as a family for all their help and good positive advice over the last 5 years. And we equally respect one another because of this.

My point being here is that I had NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT APPLYING MYSELF to SOMETHING MORE PRACTICAL LIKE Painting or gardening, and have seen that over time that it is the END PRODUCT AND FINISHING touches and the work done by Hand that allows me to Enjoy this sort of work, and because I have been told i have a natural EYE, and Touch for things like that…

I am at peace when i am in purums garden surrounded by nature, regularly watching the robin popping out for lunch when i’ve been over a certain area.

I’m at peace when i have my own space and thoughts when i am painting.

And yet the ‘system’ does not allow me to partake in things like this because it does not cater for an individual with nervous anxiety.

Off which doing things such as painting and gardening in 20 min spurts (because off my back) helps both my mind, and gives me the exercise that i need at any moment in time.

The main point is though that you can get to a stage where you will start on something,,, and you get stuck with it… it frustrates you… it annoys you…

My Sikh friends recognised that I am a kind good hearted gentle person & that it was only my mind that was letting me down, and have also helped me when i am at times suffering with bad episodes of nervous anxiety.

They are actually very good sincere caring people, and work a lot within the local communities within leeds and those who have suffered homelessness.

So RECOGNISE Someone else who may be suffering with their own emotional issues, and help them iff you can. Be kind and find PEACE of MIND within the things you once maybe disliked or didn’t apply yourself to.

I did, and because of that beautiful gardens and fabulously hand painted houses have come out of it.

So get in touch if you will like your house to look maybe like this one 🙂

P.S: I didn’t paint the shed LOL . Part of rear rockery and painted garage area June 2012

Magical Touch

Do you want your garden and house to look as nice as this?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.